DELTA Awardees 2021

The Section of Midwifery, Department of Nursing, Midwifery and Early Years, School of Health and Science, Dundalk Institute of Technology

The Section of Midwifery in Dundalk Institute of Technology are a disciplinary group within the Department of Nursing, Midwifery and Early Years. The group is a semi-autonomous academic alliance of evidence-generating and evidence-focused individuals who share a common ambition to create, disseminate and utilise current research findings to inform professional practice and education. The team has consistently championed improvements in and enhancement of learning and teaching praxis that enthusiastically adopts student-centred, life-long, reflective and authentic learning approaches. The Section of Midwifery also strives to develop collaborative synergies with colleagues within local, national and international arenas.

The awarded team included: Emily Boshell, Dr Anita Byrne (Team Lead), Jill Atkinson, Leasa Murphy, Ellen McCarragher, Chloe McCrickard, Margot McNelis, Jean Carragher and Kathleen Nallen.

Pharmacy Technician Studies Team, School of Food Science and Environmental Health, TU Dublin

The Pharmacy Technician Studies Team received their DELTA Award in 2018 and was receiving a renewal of their Award at the recent ceremony. The team prepares students for the pharmacy technician profession in hospital/community pharmacy settings. Since 2018, they have implemented a three-year DELTA action plan under two overarching themes: ‘widening participation (diversity and transition)’ and ‘high-impact and experiential learning activities’. The renewal of their Award recognised the ongoing importance they place on quality, evidence-based enhancement of the curriculum.

The awarded team included: Dr Gemma Kinsella (Team Lead), Karen Casey, James Curtin, Julie Dunne, Dr Seána Hogan, Swarna Jaiswal, Louise Kearney, Renee Malone, Mary Therese McGrath, Christine O’Connor, David O’Connor, Denis O’Shea, Carl Sullivan, Ciara Walsh, Kathy Young, Dr Tao Zhang; Also, from professional support services, Jill Barrett and Ethna McGowan (Careers Development Centre), Scott Ahearn and Sarah Gilligan (Student Counsellors), the TU Dublin Educational Model (Academic) Lead, Dr Barry Ryan, and students Simon Tee Carter (year 2 rep in 2020/2021), Torijade McGinnity (year 1 rep in 2020/2021) and Cillian Murphy (year 1 student in 2020/2021).

Marketing Discipline at MTU, Department of Marketing and International Business, Munster Technological University, Cork

The marketing discipline team at MTU began as an informal community of practice around authentic assessment for marketing. However, the DELTA process has resulted in a much broader focus that centres on teaching, learning and assessment across the discipline. The team includes individuals with a mix of both academic and industry experience who recently also won an Education Award for Best Business Collaboration in recognition of the extensive level of business engagement each year in line with their authentic assessment practices. The team has been actively involved in the overall growth of their department over the past eight years, an experience which has shaped their craft, moulded their thinking and positioned their expertise as being of recognisable value to their students and collaboration partners.

The awarded team included: Michele McManus (Team Lead), Dr Pio Fenton, Dr Breda Kenny, Dr Rose Leahy, Lisa Scannell, Conor Kelleher, Elaine O’Brien, Mike Falahee, Zahid Aslam, Vivienne Griffin, Colm Smyth, Ríona Flood, Colette Murphy, Stephen Ryan, Dr Máire OSullivan, Anna Horan, Jack Foley, Nikki Joyce and Harry Tyrrell.

Hincks Centre for Entrepreneurship Excellence, School of Business, Munster Technological University

MTU’s multidisciplinary DELTA Award team of academics, support and professional staff, and students brought a strong student-centred approach to entrepreneurship teaching and learning.  They are to be commended for their vision of entrepreneurship that makes MTU an internationally recognised centre of excellence in the provision of career-focused education which produces effective, ethical professionals capable of entrepreneurship, innovation and creativity.

The awarded team included: Helen McGuirk (team lead), Breda Kenny, Caroline O’Reilly, Lisa Murphy, Hugh McCarthy, Trudie Murray, Paul Healy, Carole O’Leary, Breda O’Dwyer, Eilis Seoigh, Josette O’Mullane, Dylan Hennessy, Catriona Fenton and Clionadh Fahy

Elevate Team (led by the School of Microbiology), University College Cork

UCC’s DELTA Award team, known as the Elevate Team described themselves as a collaborative group of educators, researchers, and technical staff from the School of Microbiology, working with their colleagues in the School of Applied Psychology and the School of Computer Sciences/IT. Their successful submission was strongly influenced by the desire to engage students in active learning to access challenging concepts in virology, cellular and molecular biology. The Elevate Team were noted for being passionate about accessing new modalities of teaching for understanding, guided by digitised immersive learning approaches.

The awarded team included: Jerry Reen (team lead), Martina Scallan, John Morgan, Brian McSharry, Owen Jump, Niall O’Leary, Carmel Shortiss, David Murphy, John O’Callaghan, Sheila Ryan, Ay’sha Moore, Jordyn Lynch, Diego Bethencourt, Erin Dalton, Grace McEvoy, Christine Walsh, Ciara Ferris, John Brendan O’Leary, Kelsey O’Connor, William Wallace, Kelan Murphy and Darragh Kelleher

School of Allied Health, University of Limerick

UL’s DELTA Award team is a multidisciplinary group of academics, practice education staff and students from across the School of Allied Health who demonstrate a strong commitment to teaching and learning. Members are drawn from the disciplines of human nutrition and dietetics, occupational therapy, physiotherapy, and speech and language therapy. The team’s application focused on inter-professional education (IPE) and showed a clear commitment to the future enhancement of teaching, while placing a high value on student commitment and engagement.

The awarded team included: Roisin Cahalan (team lead), Jimmy Burke, Anne Griffin, Ann-Marie Morrissey, Michelle O’Donoghue, Christine Langan, Noreen O’Leary, Eoghan Casey, Rebecca LaPeyre, Lauren Connolly, Ashley Booth and Stephanie McInerney