We are delighted to announce that the National Forum Teaching heroes 2014 have been identified.

The National Forum team are delighted to join with participating institutions and students to congratulate each teaching hero on having been identified as a winner of the 2014 Teaching Hero awards in Irish Higher Education.

The teaching hero award is the first of its kind in higher education in Ireland. The student body of many higher education institutions have worked with the National Forum to identify teachers across the sector who have had a positive and lasting impact on students learning experiences. This is a new way of ensuring that students have the opportunity to have their voices heard by identifying their teaching heroes, and to thank and recognise those excellent teachers at a national level.

The system is not designed to replace or disregard the existing teaching award systems that are in place institutionally and regionally, but they will help us to explore in diverse detail the ways in which students understand and experience excellent teaching within their contexts and across different disciplines.

This is the first iteration of a system that we hope will become a regular event in Irish higher education, so even if award winners have not been identified from any institution, there will be future opportunities for the students of all higher education institutions in Ireland to get involved.

The Teaching Hero Awards Ceremony was held at Dublin Castle on September 30th.

Follow us on twitter @ForumTL #TeachingHero


A full list of the teaching heroes from all participating institutions is given below

Institution Teaching Heroes Department
Athlone Institute of Technology Jean Russell Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology  Pharmacology  Clinical Laboratory Techniques
Athlone Institute of Technology Joseph Egan Marketing
Institute of Technology Blanchardstown Marie Brennan Department of Humanities
Institute of Technology Blanchardstown Pamela Kelly Department of Humanities
College of Computer Training Colette Kirwan Computing
College of Computer Training Gemma Davis Business
Cork Institute of Technology Roy Sleator Biological Sciences
Cork Institute of Technology Maurice Murphy Management & Enterprise
Dublin Business School Siobhan Magner Marketing Department
Dublin Business School David Wallace Management Department
Dublin City University Stella Vlachou Nursing and Human Sciences
Dublin City University Brian Leavy Management, DCU Business School
Dublin Institute of Technology Bryan Duggan School of Computing
Dublin Institute of Technology Pat Hannon School of Media
Dundalk Institute of Technology Marese McCabe Applied Sciences
Dundalk Institute of Technology Paula Mullen Business and Humanities
Galway Mayo Institute of Technology John Carty Hospitality and Tourism
Galway Mayo Institute of Technology Richie Hoare Business
Griffith College Dublin Tony Mullins Programming
Griffith College Dublin Eilis O’Leary Business
Hibernia College Muireann Conway Early Childhood Education
Hibernia College Redmond Connolly Lead Music and Drama Tutor
Insititute of Technology, Limerick Alan Kavanagh Electrical and Electronic Eng.
Insittute of Technology, Sligo Paula Roddy Marketing, Tourism and Sport
Insittute of Technology, Sligo Francis O’Regan Computing and Creative Practices
Institute of Physical Therapy and Applied Sciences Breda Berry IPTAS
Institute of Physical Therapy and Applied Sciences Terry Christie IPTAS
Institute of Technology Tallaght Elizabeth Mathews Humanities
Institute of Technology Tallaght Gerard Phelan Accountancy & Professional Studies
Institute of Technology, Carlow Eileen Doyle-Walsh Department of Humanities
Institute of Technology, Carlow Jenny Russell Department of Electronic, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
Institute of Technology, Tralee Mary Brosnan Nursing and Health Care Sciences
Institute of Tecnology, Tralee John Brosnan Computing
Mary Immaculate College Diarmuid O’Driscoll Mathematics & Computer Studies
Mary Immaculate College Mary Moloney Early Childhood Care and Education
Maynooth University Frank Mulligan Experimental Physics
Maynooth University Kevin Kavanagh Biology
National University of Ireland, Galway Deirdre Curran School of Business & Economics and Whitaker Institute (Employment Relations)
National University of Ireland, Galway Mark Lang School of Physics (Centre for Astronomy)
Open Training College Raymond Watson Social Care
Open Training College Alacoque McAuley Savage Social Care
Royal College of Surgeons Ireland Mary Leader Department of Pathology
Royal College of Surgeons Ireland Michelle Flood Department of Pharmacy
Trinity College Dublin Nicola Marples Zoology
Trinity College Dublin Stephen Connon Chemistry
University College Cork Eileen O Leary Chemistry
University College Cork Kieran Keohane Sociology
University College Dublin Sinead Sheerin School of Veterinary Medicine
University College Dublin Kevin Costello School of Law
University of Limerick Joseph Lynch Department of Mathematics and Statistics
University of Limerick John Heneghan Accounting and Finance
Waterford Institute of Technology Olivia Freyne School of Humanities, Languages Tourism and Hospitality
Waterford Institute of Technology Tony Reid Health Science, Nursing