The National Forum is delighted to announce the National Seminar Series 2017/2018 which will comprise 43 seminars running from November 2017 to 30 June 2018. These seminars, funded by the Forum, will focus on two key themes, Assessment OF/FOR and AS Learning and Building Capacity through Professional Development. We congratulate all the successful applicants.

The aim of the National Seminar Series is to provide all working in higher education with opportunities to connect with colleagues and to focus on shared interests in both the research and practice of teaching and learning enhancement. The series also creates opportunities to hear from national and international experts in different areas of teaching and learning.

There will be 19 seminars on the assessment theme and 24 seminars on the professional development theme. The assessment theme supports conversations around:

· work-based assessment

· students as partners in assessment

· programme approaches to assessment.

The professional development theme supports seminars that enable:

· middle and senior management to become familiar with the Professional Development Framework in order to make informed, forward-thinking decisions about T&L in their HEIs

· discipline/programme teams to use the framework to identify training needs and goals as a means to develop staff capacity for change

· networking and peer learning opportunities guided by the framework for those who are engaged in their own continuous professional development.

The seminars are funded through a competitive application process to ensure that they meet the needs of higher education, are of interest to the host and other institutions and that they encourage debate on the themes.

Institution Title Contact Person Email Theme Proposed Date
Athlone Institute of Technology ATLAS T&L Project Nuala Harding nharding@ait.ie Professional Development 15/03/2018
Athlone Institute of Technology Making the Transition – Developing Engagement in Feedback Nuala Harding nharding@ait.ie Assessment 22/02/2018
Cork Insitute of Technology Building capacity through PD Marese Bermingham marese.bermingham@cit.ie Professional Development 11/01/2018
Cork Institute of Technology Exploring Approaches to Work Based Assessment Tom O’Mahony tom.omahony@cit.ie Assessment 09/05/2018
Dublin City University Impactful integration of authentic eportfolio assessment Lisa Donaldson lisa.donaldson@dcu.ie Assessment 26/01/2018
Dublin City University Another brick in the assessment wall (TESTA) Mark Glynn mark.glynn@dcu.ie Assessment 18/01/2018
Dublin Institute of Technology Use of reflection to explore meaning in PD for T&L Maria McNeill  maria.mcneill@dit.ie Professional Development 14/02/2018
Dundalk Institute of Technology Implementing Mentoring and PD Best Practice Bernadette Brereton bernadette.brereton@dkit.ie Professional Development 18/01/2018
Dundalk Institute of Technology Assessed group work: Introducing a programme focused approach Ronan Bree ronan.bree@dkit.ie Assessment 24/01/2018
Dundalk Institute of Technology Engaging with feedback – lecturers and students working together to take a programme approach Moira Maguire moira.maguire@dkit.ie Assessment 21/02/2018
Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology GMIT Teaching and Learning Christmas Showcase – Teaching Portfolios and the NF PDF 5 Domains Carina Ginty carina.ginty@gmit.ie Professional Development Dec 2017-March 2018
Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology Student Led Learning – National Seminar on Resources and HEI Cases on Assessment OF, For and As Learning Carina Ginty carina.ginty@gmit.ie Assessment 26/04/2018
Griffith College Dublin Reflective Practice in Teaching Digital Badge Robert McKenna Robert.mckenna@griffith.ie Professional Development 26/01/2017
Institute of Technology Carlow Assessing Teamwork Skills of/for/as Learning Teaching and Learning Centre IT Carlow TLC@itcarlow.ie
059 9175714
Assessment 01/01/2018
Institute of Technology Carlow Disruptive thinking in Assessment strategies Carloalberto Petti Carloalberto.Petti@itcarlow.ie Assessment date to come
Letterkenny Institute of Technology PACT Digital Badge Bronagh Heverin  bronagh.heverin@lyit.ie Professional Development 19/01/2018
Letterkenny Institute of Technology Reflective Practice in Teaching Digital Badge Siobhan Cullen siobhan.cullen@lyit.ie Professional Development 23/03/2018
Letterkenny Institute of Technology Mentoring Essentials Digital Badge Lynn Ramsey lynn.ramsey@lyit.ie Professional Development 16/01/2017
Mary Immaculate College Peer Observation as CPD – aligned with PDF Deirdre Ryan deirdre.ryan@mic.ul.ie Professional Development 08/02/2018
Mary Immaculate College 20 years of progress in early childhood education Mary Moloney mary.moloney@mic.ul.ie Professional Development 01/04/2018
Mary Immaculate College International Mobility for PD Holly Cowman  Holly.Cowman@mic.ul.ie Professional Development 14/12/2017
Mary Immaculate College PDF for Teacher Educators Déirdre Ní Chróinín deirdre.NiChroinin@mic.ul.ie Professional Development 08/05/2018
Mary Immaculate College Students as partners in assessment and feedback policy development Gwen Moore gwen.moore@mic.ul.ie Assessment 31/05/2018
Maynooth University Sharing T&L research & practice through networks and with diverse audiences Morag Munro morag.munro@mu.ie Professional Development 10/01/2018
Maynooth University Aligning accredited CPD programmes with PDF Morag Munro morag.munro@mu.ie Professional Development 01/05/2018
Maynooth University Responsibility Sharing in the Giving & Receiving of Feedback Lisa O’Regan lisa.oregan@mu.ie Assessment 23/02/2018
Maynooth University Aliging Language assessments in HE to the Common European Framework for Languages Aoife Ni Ghloinn
Siobhán Donovan.
Aoife.nighloinn@mu.ie
siobhan.donovan@ucd.ie
Assessment 08/06/2018
National College of Ireland Work Based Learning, The Final Frontier: Going where no work based assessment has gone before Frances Sheridan fsheridan@ncirl.ie Assessment 21/03/2018
National University of Ireland, Galway 2018 Student Volunteering Symposium Lorraine Tansey lorraine.tansey@nuigalway.ie Professional Development 12/03/2018
Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Peer Observation of Teaching in context of PDF Martina Crehan martinacrehan@rcsi.ie Professional Development 01/03/2018
Trinity College Dublin PACT Digital Badge Jade Concannon  capsl@tcd.ie Professional Development 31/01/2018
Trinity College Dublin Students as partners in Enquiry Based Learning Michael Wride wridem@tcd.ie Assessment 25/05/2018
Trinity College Dublin Developing manageable, meaningful assessment Jade Concannon  capsl@tcd.ie Assessment 24/01/2018
Trinity College Dublin The Student Voice: A Long Table on Assessment Jade Concannon  capsl@tcd.ie Assessment 01/12/2017
University College Cork Cross-national capacity building between HEIs: Ireland and Malawi Rosarii Griffin Professional Development 22/01/2018
University College Dublin Universal Design Digital Badge Lisa Padden lisa.padden@ucd.ie Professional Development 31/01/2018
University College Dublin Programme Focused Assessment Digital Badge (pilot run, open to UCD and TCD staff only) Geraldine O’Neill geraldine.m.oneill@ucd.ie
01-716 8575
Professional Development 16/01/2018
University College Dublin Teaching and Assessing Professionalism Sue Rackard sue.rackard@ucd.ie Assessment 24/01/2018
University of Limerick Engaging in Teaching Awards as CPD- Aligning with PDF Mary Fitzpatrick mary.fitzpatrick@ul.ie Professional Development 28/01/2018
University of Limerick Enacting the values underpinning PD Aoife Neary aoife.neary@ul.ie Professional Development 13/02/2018
University of Limerick Getting Started with Online Teaching Digital Badge Angelica Rizquez angelica.risquez@ul.ie Professional Development 01/05/2018
University of Limerick Authentic Programme Assessment Mary Fitzpatrick mary.fitzpatrick@ul.ie Assessment 31/01/2018
Waterford Institute of Technology Using Assessment to develop independent learners Sue Hurley schurley@wit.ie Assessment 20/02/2018

 

To view the National Seminar Series 2017/2018 call, please click here.