The National Forum’s Research Ethics Committee is a sub-committee of the Board of the National Forum. The Research Ethics Committee is responsible for developing, implementing and enhancing ethics arrangements for research to be conducted in the name of the Forum and for developing ethics processes in line with international good practice.

A National Forum Research Ethics Governance Structure and Ethics Approval Process has been devised by the Committee to guide all ethics arrangements pertaining to National Forum research projects. Membership of the committee is by institutional nomination of staff with recognised expertise in research ethics from higher education institutions affiliated to the Forum. Members of the National Forum Research Ethics Committee are listed below.


Elizabeth Noonan National Forum Research Ethics Committee Chair

Director of Quality Enhancement Unit, University College Cork

Sheena Hyland Lecturer in Education (Teaching and Learning), National College of Ireland
Sean Lacey Lecturer and Chair of Research and Innovation Committee, Cork Institute of Technology
Joyce Senior Assistant Professor and member of School of Psychology Undergraduate Research Ethics Committee, University College Dublin
Elaine Sisson Senior Lecturer and Chair of IADT Research Ethics Committee


For further details on the National Forums Research Ethics process and application form click here.