The National Forum’s Research Ethics Committee is a sub-committee of the Board of the National Forum. The Research Ethics Committee is responsible for developing, implementing and enhancing ethics arrangements for research to be conducted in the name of the Forum and for developing ethics processes in line with international good practice.

A National Forum Research Ethics Governance Structure and Ethics Approval Process has been devised by the Committee to guide all ethics arrangements pertaining to National Forum research projects. Membership of the committee is by institutional nomination of staff with recognised expertise in research ethics from higher education institutions affiliated to the Forum. Members of the National Forum Research Ethics Committee are listed below.


Dr. Joseph RyanDeputy Chair of the National Forum
Dr. Jane CarriganResearch Officer at Institute of Education, Dublin City University (Formerly Chair of Griffith College Research Committee)
Dr. Suzanne GuerinAssociate Professor in Research Design and Analysis, University College Dublin; Member of the Human Research Ethics Committee, UCD
Dr. Mary McDonnell-NaughtonLecturer, Department of Nursing and Midwifery, AIT; Chair of AIT Research Ethics Committee
Prof. Paul McSweeneyVice-President for Learning and Teaching, University College Cork


For further details on the National Forums Research Ethics process and application form click here.