The Teaching Experts Award process is the second phase of Ireland’s National Learning Impact Awards in Higher Education. The award identification process was rigorous and highly selective. Once submitted by their institutions, nominations were reviewed by a Teaching Expert Awards evaluation panel.

Not more than 16 nominees were shortlisted, and there were 7 category award winners. Everyone on the shortlist was invited to attend the National Forum Teaching and Learning Summit where they were formally recognised. The 7 category award winners were announced at this event.

The two phases of the Learning Impact Award process support a strong ongoing partnership between students and academic contexts, and between ‘heroes’ and ‘experts’, to help inform and shape our sectoral professional development strategies, frameworks, and learning cultures.

The National Forum hosted an information webinar on the awards process on June 18th from 12:30pm – 1:30pm. The recording of this webinar is now available from the following link:

If you have any queries on this call please submit your question/s to All queries will be responded to within 24 hours and replies will be available on the FAQ section.

Future Makers Awards 2015 - Teaching Expert Award Design Competition

Darragh Sinnott, GMIT is the overall winner of the National Forum’s 2015 Teaching and Learning Teaching  Expert  Award Design Competition.  This year’s runner-up award goes to Zuzana Jezikova, Limerick School of Art & Design.

Commenting as this year’s Design Competition winners were announced, Dr Terry Maguire, Director of the National Forum said:

“The Forum warmly congratulates Darragh as the overall winner and Zuzana as the runner-up for this year’s competition.  Both of these entrants submitted works of exceptional thought and creativity.

The Forum commends them for bringing exceptional vision and talent to this year’s competition”.

Darragh’s submission was commissioned to produce the award for the Forum’s Teaching Expert Awards which this year took place in Dublin Castle on Thursday 10 December 2015.